Book Review: The Accidental Mermaid

Title:  Accidental Mermaid Author:  Dakota Cassidy Release Date:  October 1, 2017 Source:  eARC provided by the author Esther Williams Sanchez is busy living her life the way she’s always done. Spending time with her pets, working as a divorce mediator, and enjoying her newly renovated cottage on the beach. Learn to swim with a bunch of babies and toddlers? Easy-squeezy, right? Er, no. As Esther leaves the pool after her very first lesson, she sprouts …

Read More

Book Review: Buzz Books 2017 YA Fall/Winter

Title:  Buzz Books 2017 YA Fall/Winter Release Date:  May 16, 2017 Publisher:  Publishers Lunch Source:  netGalley Our seventh edition of Buzz Books: Young Adult gives readers the special excitement of being at BookExpo. Buzz Books are just like a box of chocolates, you open it and you can smell the wonderful aroma and they all look so good that you don’t know which one to pick. My advice: pick them all. All the excerpts in …

Read More

Book Review: Hawkweed Legacy by Irena Brignull

Title:  Hawkweed Legacy Author:  Irena Brignull Release Date:  August 15, 2017 Publisher:  Weinstein Books Source:  review copy provided by Wunderkind PR Poppy is discovering a purpose for her powers in Africa, but she is haunted by a vision of her own death. Taken in by a boy and his great-grandmother, a healer, they vow to keep her safe-even if that ultimately means holding her captive. But Poppy never stops longing for Leo and, when she …

Read More

Book Review: They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

Title:  They Both Die At The End Author:  Adam Silvera Release Date:  September 5, 2017 Publisher:  HarperTeen Source:  Edelweiss On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.  Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day.  The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s …

Read More

Book Review: Dead on Arrival by Matt Richtel

Title:  Dead on Arrival Author:  Matt Richtel Release Date:  August 1, 2017 Publisher:  William Morrow Source:  Edelweiss A mysterious disorder threatens to destroy the world in this high-concept thriller from Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times reporter Matt Richtel, which combines medical science, cutting-edge technology, and breathtaking suspense in the vein of Michael Crichton. Moving at a breakneck pace from the labs of the Centers for Disease Control to the secret campus of Google X to …

Read More

Mini Review: Say Goodbye To Survival Mode

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode by Crystal Paine Synopsis Packed with straightforward solutions you’ll use today and inspirational stories you’ll remember for years, Say Goodbye to Survival Mode is a must for any woman who’s ever longed for the freedom to enjoy life, not just survive it. (Goodreads) Quick Take Felt a little betrayed by this book as I wasn’t expecting such a large Christian message woven throughout. I don’t mind religious talk in a …

Read More

Bookclub Reads: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Title:  A Man Called Ove Author:  Fredrik Backman Release Date:  July 15, 2014 Publisher:  Atria Books Source:  Borrowed Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon – the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window.  He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a …

Read More

Book Review Buzz Books 2017 Spring/Summer

Title:  Buzz Books 2017 Spring/Summer Release Date:  January 13, 2017 Publisher:  Publishers Lunch Source:  netGalley The tenth edition of Buzz Books captures the excitement of Winter Institute and takes it much further: start off a year of new reading discoveries excerpts from 40 talked about Buzz Books due to be published in the months ahead. (Goodreads) Buzz Books are one of my favorite ways to discover new-to-me authors that I might not have been exposed …

Read More

Perfect by Cecelia Ahern (book review)

Title:  Perfect Author:  Cecelia Ahern Release Date:  April 4, 2017 Publisher:  Feiwel & Friends Source:  NetGalley Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured – all her freedoms gone. Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick – the only person she can trust. But …

Read More

Book Review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

Title:  A Simple Favor Author:  Darcey Bell Release Date:  March 21, 2017 Publisher:  HarperCollins Source:  Edelweiss She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous. A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. (Goodreads) Review: Stephanie and Emily are best friends, so Stephanie doesn’t think anything of it …

Read More

Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Title:  The Bone Witch Author:  Rin Chupeco Release Date:  March 7, 2017 Publisher:  Sourcebooks Fire Source:  NetGalley When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family.  Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community.  But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and …

Read More

Book Review: The Mermaid’s Daughter by Ann Claycomb

Title:  The Mermaid’s Daughter Author:  Ann Claycomb Release Date:  March 7, 2017 Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks Source:  ARC received from the publisher A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family. Kathleen has …

Read More
Follow my blog with Bloglovin