Bookclub Reads: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Title:  A Man Called Ove Author:  Fredrik Backman Release Date:  July 15, 2014 Publisher:  Atria Books Source:  Borrowed Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon – the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window.  He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a …

Read More

Book Review Buzz Books 2017 Spring/Summer

Title:  Buzz Books 2017 Spring/Summer Release Date:  January 13, 2017 Publisher:  Publishers Lunch Source:  netGalley The tenth edition of Buzz Books captures the excitement of Winter Institute and takes it much further: start off a year of new reading discoveries excerpts from 40 talked about Buzz Books due to be published in the months ahead. (Goodreads) Buzz Books are one of my favorite ways to discover new-to-me authors that I might not have been exposed …

Read More

Perfect by Cecelia Ahern (book review)

Title:  Perfect Author:  Cecelia Ahern Release Date:  April 4, 2017 Publisher:  Feiwel & Friends Source:  NetGalley Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured – all her freedoms gone. Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick – the only person she can trust. But …

Read More

Book Review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

Title:  A Simple Favor Author:  Darcey Bell Release Date:  March 21, 2017 Publisher:  HarperCollins Source:  Edelweiss She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous. A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. (Goodreads) Review: Stephanie and Emily are best friends, so Stephanie doesn’t think anything of it …

Read More

Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Title:  The Bone Witch Author:  Rin Chupeco Release Date:  March 7, 2017 Publisher:  Sourcebooks Fire Source:  NetGalley When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family.  Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community.  But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and …

Read More

Book Review: The Mermaid’s Daughter by Ann Claycomb

Title:  The Mermaid’s Daughter Author:  Ann Claycomb Release Date:  March 7, 2017 Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks Source:  ARC received from the publisher A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family. Kathleen has …

Read More

Book Review Buzz Books 2017 YA Spring/Summer

Title:  Buzz Books 2017 YA Spring/Summer Release Date:  January 13, 2017 Publisher:  Publishers Lunch Source:  netGalley Our sixth edition of Buzz Books: Young Adult provides the special excitement of Winter Institute and takes it even further with samples of the best in forthcoming young adult novels months ahead of their actual publication. (Goodreads) My Review: Buzz Books are one of my favorite ways to discover new authors, so I’m incredibly happy that this edition knocks …

Read More

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris book review

Title:  Behind Closed Doors Author:  B.A. ParisRelease Date:  August 9, 2016Publisher:  St. Martin’s PressSource:  ARC provided by Wunderkind PR Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love. Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and …

Read More

Book Review: Buzz Books 2016 Fall/Winter

Title:  Buzz Books 2016 Fall/Winter Release Date:  May 2, 2016Publisher:  Publishers LunchSource:  NetGalley The ninth Buzz Books edition evokes all the excitement of BEA with substantial excerpts from 40 of the most highly-touted books to be published this fall/winter.  Our “digital convention” features such major authors as Amor Towles, Christina Baker Kline, T.C. Boyle, Ann Patchett, Maria Semple, Marisa Silver, and Andrew Gross. We showcase sparkling debuts from soon-to-become literary stars such as Emily Fridlund, …

Read More

Blog Tour: Little is Left to Tell by Steven Hendricks

Title:  Little is Left to Tell Author:  Steven HendricksRelease Date:  October 7, 2014Publisher:  Starcherone Books Source:  Review copy received from TLC Book Tours Readers enter a narrative rabbit hole through bedtime stories that Mr. Fin, a man with dementia, conjures for his long-lost son.  Virginia the Wolf writes her last novel to lure her daughter home.  A rabbit named Hart Crane must eat words to speak, while passing zeppelins drop bombs.  Mr. Fin tries to …

Read More

The Fireman by Joe Hill

Title:  The Fireman Author:  Joe HillRelease Date:  May 17, 2016Publisher:  William MorrowSource:  eARC provided by the publisher No one knows exactly when it began or where it originated. A terrifying new plague is spreading like wildfire across the country, striking cities one by one: Boston, Detroit, Seattle.  The doctors call it Draco Incendia Trychophyton. To everyone else it’s Dragonscale, a highly contagious, deadly spore that marks its hosts with beautiful black and gold marks across …

Read More

Blog Tour: The Well Path by Jamé Heskett

Title:  The Well Path: Lose 20 Pounds, Reverse the Aging Process, Change Your Life Author:  Jame HeskettRelease Date:  March 8, 2016Publisher:  Harper WaveSource:  Review copy provided by TLC Book Tours Lose twenty pounds and reverse the aging process in just sixty days with this clinically proven, holistic lifestyle plan from an anti-aging expert whose clients include some of New York City’s most successful women. Most diets don’t work because they restrict food intake and put …

Read More
Follow my blog with Bloglovin