Book Review: Escape Room by Megan Goldin

Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are ruthlessly ambitious high-flyers working in the lucrative world of Wall Street finance where deception and intimidation thrive. Getting rich is all that matters, and they’ll do anything to reach the top. When they are ordered to participate in a corporate team-building exercise that requires them to escape from a locked elevator, dark secrets of their team begin to be laid bare. The biggest mystery to solve in this lethal …

Read More

Book Review: The Lovely and the Lost by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Kira Bennett’s earliest memories are of living alone and wild in the woods. She has no idea how long she was on her own or what she had to do to survive, but she remembers the moment that Cady Bennett and one of her search-and-rescue dogs found her perfectly. Adopted into the Bennett family, Kira still struggles with human interaction years later, but she excels at the family business: search-and-rescue. Along with Cady’s son, Jude, …

Read More

Book Review: Protect the Prince by Jennifer Estep

Title:  Protect the Prince Author:  Jennifer Estep Release Date:  July 2, 2019 Publisher:  Harper Voyager Source:  Edelweiss Everleigh Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over. First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their greedy hands on her crown. As if that wasn’t bad enough, an assassin tries to kill Evie in her own throne …

Read More

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones (book review)

Title:  The Other Woman Author:  Sandie Jones Release Date:  August 21, 2018 Publisher:  Minotaur Books Source: ARC received from the publisher Emily thinks Adam’s perfect; the man she thought she’d never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is …

Read More

Book Review: Marty’s Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day by Dakota Cassidy

Title:  Marty’s Horrible, Terrible, Very Bad Day Author:  Dakota Cassidy Release Date:  February 28, 2019 Source:  Review Copy received from the author For Roxanne McNally, being a grim reaper has never been easy. Now she hates her job more than usual, because she’s been charged with reaping the soul of a legend – werewolf Marty Andrews Flaherty.  Marty, together with her equally iconic friends Nina and Wanda, are Rocky’s idols. To say she’s an OOPs …

Read More

Book Review: Watcher in the Woods by Kelley Armstrong

*post may contain affiliate links  Title:  Watcher in the Woods Author:  Kelley Armstrong Release Date:  February 9, 2019 Publisher:  St. Martin’s Press Source:  NetGalley The secret town of Rockton has seen some rocky times lately; understandable considering its mix of criminals and victims fleeing society for refuge within its Yukon borders.  Casey Duncan, the town’s only detective on a police force of three, has already faced murder, arson, and falling in love in the several …

Read More

Book Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Title:  Falling Into Place Author:  Amy Zhang Release Date:  September 9, 2014 Publisher:  Greenwillow Books Source:  ARC provided via Amazon Vine On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class.  Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. (Goodreads) Review: Liz is a high school student who deliberately crashes her car, hoping to die. The story tries to show …

Read More

Book Review: They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

Title:  They Both Die At The End Author:  Adam Silvera Release Date:  September 5, 2017 Publisher:  HarperTeen Source:  Edelweiss On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.  Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day.  The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s …

Read More

Bookclub Reads: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Title:  A Man Called Ove Author:  Fredrik Backman Release Date:  July 15, 2014 Publisher:  Atria Books Source:  Borrowed Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon – the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window.  He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a …

Read More

Perfect by Cecelia Ahern (book review)

Title:  Perfect Author:  Cecelia Ahern Release Date:  April 4, 2017 Publisher:  Feiwel & Friends Source:  NetGalley Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured – all her freedoms gone. Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick – the only person she can trust. But …

Read More

Book Review: A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

Title:  A Simple Favor Author:  Darcey Bell Release Date:  March 21, 2017 Publisher:  HarperCollins Source:  Edelweiss She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous. A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. (Goodreads) Review: Stephanie and Emily are best friends, so Stephanie doesn’t think anything of it …

Read More

Book Review: The Mermaid’s Daughter by Ann Claycomb

Title:  The Mermaid’s Daughter Author:  Ann Claycomb Release Date:  March 7, 2017 Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks Source:  ARC received from the publisher A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family. Kathleen has …

Read More
Follow my blog with Bloglovin