uninvitedThe Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

ARC received via Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.


The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature.

Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. (Goodreads)

My Thoughts:

Davy is a smart, talented, good-looking girl who seems to have it all. Until she tests positive for the so-called “kill gene” that is, then she suddenly becomes an outcast.

Everyone with the gene is labeled a murderer and ostracized.

Uninvited from her prestigious school, she finds herself attending public school, where she’s warehoused in a basement cage with other teen carriers.

Quite a change from her formerly golden life.

Things go from bad to worse for Davy as society grows increasingly fearful of the carriers. Push comes to shove when some of the carriers decide that enough is enough.

A little surprised that no one thought this would happen, because if you treat someone like a criminal, they’ll eventually start to behave like a criminal.

Has no one heard of a self-fulfilling prophecy?

Isn’t that Pysch 101?

In one way, Davy is lucky in that she’s smart and talented and things aren’t quite as bad for her as for others. But in other ways, her road is even rougher once she’s singled out for special treatment.

Davy is an interesting character and I liked some of the allies she found. While I would have liked more information about the kill gene and why the majority of the population was okay with how they were treated, I did enjoy the story.

Curious if society would really react that way to the discovery of a so-called kill gene?

Whatever happened to the Nature vs Nurture debate?

Sad to say that I think our society would react poorly to this discovery and be all too willing to use carriers as a scapegoat for everything they’re afraid of. Or maybe I’m just too cynical?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin